Educational History

I spent my first year of high school at Lisgar in Ottawa, Canada, and the remaining three years at the Jakarta International School in Jakarta, Indonesia.  From there I went on to the University of Waterloo, in Waterloo, Canada.  It took me 6 long years, but in 2001 I received my Honours Bachelor of Mathematics, with a double major in Computer Science and C&O (Combinatorics & Optimization).  I like to think my excuse for taking so long was due to me being in a Co-op program, which allowed me to work during college, an opportunity I took to the extreme.  In the fall of 2001 I moved to the lovely Ithaca, New York to begin the long, seemingly never-ending road towards PhD-dom in Computer Science at Cornell University.  Much to my surprise, I finished up my dissertation and graduated in the spring of 2007, and landed myself an assistant professor position at Oberlin College in Oberlin, Ohio.

Employment History

Oberlin College, Oberlin. Associate Professor. Aug. '07 - present.
Cornell University, Ithaca. Graduate Student, Research Assistant, Instructor, TA. Sept. '01 - '07.
University of Waterloo, Waterloo. Research Assistant. Apr. - Aug. '01.
Seiko Epson, Japan. Software Developer, May - Oct. '00.
Sybase Inc., Waterloo. Software Developer, May '99 - Sept. '99.
Sybase Inc., Waterloo. Software Developer, Sept '98 - Dec. '98
Seiko Epson, Japan. Software Developer, May '97 - May '98.
Corel Corporation, Ottawa. Quality Assurance, Sept. '96 - Dec. '96.
Industry Canada, Ottawa. Junior Sectoral Analyst, Jan. '96 - Apr. '96.

Personal History

I was born in Ottawa, Canada, where I lived for my first 13 years with my parents and sister.  Since then I've lived in Jakarta, Indonesia for 3 years, Waterloo, Canada on-and-off for 6 years, Japan (Tokyo & Beppu) for a year and a half, Ithaca, New York for 6 years, and Oberlin, Ohio since 2007.  I have a lovely new-ish family consisting of my husband Tom, our young son Declan, and our young-at-heart dog Bellman-Ford. A new addition in the form of a baby girl arrives in August 2015.

I speak French and Japanese, although don't call me on it without giving me time to brush up.  My number one time-killer, other than school, has got to be running, which many would say I do too much.  I particularly like long-distance running, and I've run multiple marathons, including two Bostons and the Chicago marathon. I ran a personal record of 3:17 at the 2011 Inland Trail Marathon, beating my previous PR by 13 minutes. (Also, getting lost in the process. Funny story...)

I like sports in general, and will try (almost) anything. I'm not too shabby at tennis, and love to follow it on television.  I'm a travel fanatic, although it is hard to find enough time to do it properly.  I read a lot of fiction, and play the piano.  I play the guitar in the weakest sense.

Oh. And I eat ridiculous amounts of candy.